Review: Bombay Bicycle Club @ The Astor Theatre

I recently had the pleasure of catching UK band Bombay Bicycle Club in what was part of their first headlining Australian shows, and I must say they proved just why they are attracting increasing amounts of attention from all parts of the industry.

Support act I, a Man provided a solid set to enhance the already perfect atmosphere created by the surroundings of The Astor Theatre. Although I didn’t venture upstairs, it appeared to be a near capacity crowd in attendance, which affirmed my thoughts on the solid following the do have here in WA.

They opened with How Can You Swallow So Much Sleep, which proved perfect for the predominantly “Triple J listener” audience, as that is the current single off the record A Different Kind Of Fix on high rotation with the national broadcaster. They proceeded to captivate the crowd whilst drifting between songs off the new record, and older favourites including Always Like This and Magnet.

It proved to be an awesome Sunday night’s entertainment, with the band near faultless on stage and the crowd upbeat to the point of even dancing along. If they do venture back to our shores in the future, I will certainly be putting my hand up to grab a ticket as soon as they come on sale, and I would thoroughly recommend you do the same! I would also suggest having a look at their 2011 record A Different Kind Of Fix if you haven’t already done so!


 

 

Leave a comment